Cannes Film Festival – 1st day – May 11th

Hello,

I work for Orange Business Services in Sophia Antipolis, on the French Riviera and I’m a movie addict.

Every year I take two weeks off to go and watch movies at the Cannes Film festival.

I tend to avoid blockbusters as these will be distributed in France anyway and I’ll easily have a chance to watch them. Most of the Cannes’ blockbusters are out of competition and they are available in the movie theaters the same day of their Cannes screening. So why boring spending time to watch them in Cannes?

Instead, what I prefer are the independent small movies from all over the world, which most likely won’t be distributed in France or – if they do – won’t make it to Nice (Cinemas down here are mostly blockbuster-oriented *sigh*).

I watch very few movies from the official competition, some from the “Un certain regard” selection, but also – and especially – from the “Directors’ Fortnight” (La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs) and the “Critics’ week” (La semaine de la critique).

If you’re at the Festival and you’ve watched some movies, don’t hesitate to give us your opinion!

So stay tuned and find out about the next hidden gem that I’ll discover for you here in Cannes!

Ciao, Vittorio

P.S. If you live in or visit the French Riviera during the Cannes Film Festival (usually 2nd and 3rd weeks of May) let me know and I’ll explain you how you can see some movies…

Leave a comment